Sonata for Alto Saxophone and Piano (2017)

I. Allegro ma non troppo
II. Scherzando
III. Intermezzo: Allegretto
IV. Pavane (for Paris, January 2015): Andante, quasi Adagio

Duration: 14’

Sonata for Alto Saxophone and Piano was composed for saxophonist Gail Levinsky and pianist Jackie Edwards-Henry. The duo first performed the piece in July 2015 at the SaxOpen Festival in Strasbourg, France. At that time the sonata comprised only three movements. The current third movement, Intermezzo, was added in February 2017; Levinsky and Edwards-Henry premiered the four-movement final version in March 2017 at Susquehanna University.

The final movement is a pavane, subtitled for Paris, January 2015. It was composed early that year, in the shadow of the deadly shootings at the offices of the magazine Charlie Hebdo.